Progress Track: 6 Out of 20 Books Read for 2017!

(This post was written last March 26. It was supposed to be up before I left for my commitment but WordPress betrayed me haha so here it is!)

March is closing, and I’m so happy to have read six (6) books for the first quarter of 2017! Last year, I only finished SEVEN. And for me, that was already a feat as I wasn’t really into books. But this time around, I resolved to read at least twenty (20) books and challenged myself to make reading a habit. Which means, I’m at 30%-ish of my goal! However, I can’t review most of these books (for now) so I’m collating all the summaries here. My theme for the first quarter: Love, romance, relationships – whatever you call it! šŸ™‚


Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella

Twenties Girl is about an executive headhunter Lara Lington who was visited by the ghost of her great-aunt, Sadie Lancaster, during the funeral. To be finally laid to rest, Sadie requests Lara to find her dragonfly necklace she got in the 1920ā€™s. Being polar opposites, they make one comical pair that brings out the best in each other and manages to be fabulous twenties girls living in the 21st century.

I actually have a review of this book! Read it here.

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

Samantha Sweeting has messed up big-time on her work as an attorney of the top law firm of the city. She was almost the youngest partner of the company until Sam lost her client $50 million – a rare mistake for our workaholic lawyer. Before the news blows up, she drifted far away from London leading her to the Geiger’s country-side residence where the owners mistook her as the newly-hired maid. Hiding from the world, Sam weighs her options between going back to make everything right or taking the job she knows nothing about.

Can You Keep A Secret by Sophie Kinsella

Everyone has a secret. Big or small, we all have secrets we always keep to ourselves. Unless you are Emma Corrigan, who managed to spill all her secrets to the man beside her as the plane they’re riding experiences turbulence. Fortunately, he is a complete stranger. Unfortunately,Ā  he will no longer be a stranger when Emma returns to work.

The Love Detective by Alexandra Potter

Ruby Miller always believed that love is the greatest mystery of all. She describes herself as a love detective. And so when Ruby’s sister eloped to the ends of India, she had no choice but to follow and find her even if it means getting her luggage stolen, meeting an arrogant Am-boy, and delaying the writing of her book. Could this adventure solve the mystery she always seek to answer?

Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot

Maid of Honor, Jane Harris, always knew she wouldn’t like the best man, Cal Langdon, on their bestfriends’ wedding. They always bicker around and send hate mails to each other. Not until their bestfriends decide to postpone the wedding, Jane and Cal have to put their dislike aside and resolve the problem. It was also then that they began to fix their misunderstanding.

The Boy Next Door by Meg Cabot

When her neighbor almost got murdered and is critical in a hospital, Mel Fuller reached out to the nephew, Max Friedlander to take care of the pets. They began to get along and had a good chemistry. But could this Friedlander guy be the real one? Was Mel Fuller catfished?


Yaaass! Finally an update for my blog! Hahaha as you may have notice, I really am a hopeless romantic. Only books can fill up my love tank *cries*

Anyway, my second quarter theme is: Inspirational books!!! I am reading one right now and it’s too relevant at this point of my life. Please recommend me good books! šŸ™‚

All smiles,

Donna, the daydreamer

Leave a Reply

