Book Review: “Twenties Girl” by Sophie Kinsella

twentiesgirl

My New Year’s resolution is to read twenty (20) novels this year. I never appreciated reading books before, but thanks to Sophie Kinsella, I was able to find it enjoyable and fun. She wrote the first book I finished in 2016 (I’ve Got Your Number) which started my own reading revolution. And I trusted Kinsella once more to jumpstart my 2017 that’s gonna be full of stories, inspiration, and book reviews *crossed fingers*.

Sophie Kinsella is an English author famous for her Shopaholic series. I actually didn’t know she has stand-alone books until last year. One of them is “Twenties Girl”, a chick-lit comedy novel published in 2009.

Twenties Girl Plot Summary

Twenties Girl is about an executive headhunter Lara Lington who was visited by the ghost of her great-aunt, Sadie Lancaster, during the funeral. To be finally laid to rest, Sadie requests Lara to find her dragonfly necklace she got in the 1920’s. Being polar opposites, they make one comical pair that brings out the best in each other and manages to be fabulous twenties girls living in the 21st century.

Personal Review

Can I just say that I now know Kinsella’s writing style? I easily get indulged with her plot pattern that centers around women leading interesting lives. And Twenties Girl did not disappoint.

First, the characters each has their own stories. They didn’t just pop in to the whole picture and made something significant for the protagonist. They were given focus at some point that is relevant to the storyline. I also loved their personalities and attitude – too distinct as individuals. Lara is helpless and egoistic. Sadie is gutsy and demanding. Their traits clash which puts them in more distress than delight; however, you can’t help but laugh (or fume) whenever they bicker.

Second, I like the plot. It’s not creepy (since were talking about ghosts) and not too cheesy. It’s not everyday you encounter books about a funny ghost who seems her goal in life (or death) is to annoy her great niece. It captivated me one sec after I read the summary. I knew it was going to be funny.

Third, I was more than halfway through the book when I figured out why it was titled, Twenties Girl. This novel made me look up the 1920 to the 1930 decade – from the dresses to the women’s conservative nature, it really made sense. It was well-researched making you appreciate reading it.

Fourth, it centers on family. Filipinos are naturally family-oriented and I was appalled with the way they treated Sadie. She didn’t deserve all that. She is a lovely woman full of life and jazz. It’s great that the book makes you remember and spend time with your loved ones.

Aaand, the ending though! Why does it have to end like that? Seriously, it brought me tears. I already anticipated it but, Kinsella surely written it the way I thought it to be. She could have finished it up differently, to give her readers a more satisfying conclusion. It was sad, yes, but it is the perfect ending for this novel.

Overall, it is an outstanding book. Twenties Girl is heartwarming, full of Kinsella’s unfailing sense of humor, and you just can’t put the book down. This is a great escape for when you’re feeling a little less groovy and animated. Have fun! 🙂

All smiles,

Donna, the daydreamer

One thought on “Book Review: “Twenties Girl” by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

